A picture of group of happy friends showing signs

To receive Independent Living Services (ILS) or Supported Living Services(SLS), you must be eligible for regional center services.

An individual is eligible for these services if he or she has a developmental disability, which has been determined substantially disabling before the age of 18 years. Children from birth to age three who are experiencing, or are at risk for a developmental delay/disability are also eligible, as are individuals who are at a high risk or parenting a child with a developmental disability.

Eligibility in California
In the State of California, a disability considered as a developmental disability must have:

  • Started before the age of 18
  • Expected to continue indefinitely
  • Be a substantial disability for the individual
  • And only include: mental retardation, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, autism, and a 5th category